Karnataka crisis: Verdict on disqualified lawmakers today

Friday, October 29, 2010

BANGALORE - The Karnataka High Court will today pronounce its much-awaited verdict on the disqualification of eleven rebel BJP MLAs today.

Justice V G Sabhahit, the third judge who heard the batch of petitions filed by the rebels challenging their disqualification from Assembly membership by Speaker K G Bopaiah will deliver the judgement at 2.30 p.m.

The case was posted before Justice Sabhahit after a division bench, comprising Chief Justice J S Khehar and Justice N Kumar gave a split verdict. While Khehar upheld the Speaker’s ruling, Kumar set aside the disqualification order.

The judges also upheld that the principles of natural justice were followed in giving ample time to the legislators to reply to the show-cause notices issued by the Speaker.

The hearing on another plea by five independent legislators against their disqualification was referred to a new bench, which will take up the case on November 2.

The BJP government had won the vote of confidence with 106 members supporting it and the opposition logging 100 votes in a House with an effective strength of 208.

This meant that even if the five independents earned legal reprieve in the case, the government would continue to have the numbers in its favour.

Those BJP MLAs, who were disqualified are: Balachandra Jarkiholi, Belur Gopala Krishna, Anand Asnotikar, Dr Sarvabowma Bagali, V Nagaraju, Raje Kage, Y Sampangi, Nanjundaswamy, S K Bellubbi, H S Shankara Lingegowda and Shivanagouda Naik.ormer Ministers Venkataramanappa, Shivaraj Tangadagi, Goolihatti Sekhar and M P Narendraswamy and independent MLAs were also disqualified. (ANI)

Filed under: India

will not be displayed