Karnataka HC to continue hearing on MLAs disqualification case today

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

BANGALORE - Karnataka High Court will continue to hear today the matter related to disqualification of eleven BJP MLAs.

Justice V G Sabhahit, who heard arguments by advocates on behalf of the eleven disqualified BJP MLAs yesterday, decided to adjourn the hearing till today.

Justice Sabhahit was appointed as third Judge after a Division Bench comprising of Chief Justice J S Khehar and N Kumar gave a split verdict on voluntary resignation of BJP MLAs.

The rebel MLAs were disqualified by Speaker KG Bopaiah under the provision of the anti-defection law on October 10.

On Monday, Chief Justice Khehar upheld Bopaiah’s decision to disqualify the MLAs but Justice N Kumar ruled against the disqualifications, saying the MLAs had not quit the party and therefore did not attract provisions of the anti-defection law.

Khehar said the conduct of the MLAs in withdrawing support from Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa’s government was ground enough to suggest that they had voluntarily resigned from the party, thus inviting action under the anti-defection law.

The judges also upheld that the principles of natural justice were followed in giving ample time to the legislators to reply to the show-cause notices issued by the Speaker.

The hearing on another plea by five independent legislators against their disqualification was referred to a new bench, which will take up the case on November 2.

The BJP government had won the vote of confidence with 106 members supporting it and the opposition logging 100 votes in a House with an effective strength of 208.

This meant that even if the five independents earned legal reprieve in the case, the government would continue to have the numbers in its favour.

Those BJP MLAs, who were disqualified are: Balachandra Jarkiholi, Belur Gopala Krishna, Anand Asnotikar, Dr Sarvabowma Bagali, V Nagaraju, Raje Kage, Y Sampangi, Nanjundaswamy, S K Bellubbi, H S Shankara Lingegowda and Shivanagouda Naik.
Former Ministers Venkataramanappa, Shivaraj Tangadagi, Goolihatti Sekhar and M P Narendraswamy and independent MLAs were also disqualified. (ANI)

Filed under: India

will not be displayed